Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky

2016-05-16 21.48.18

 

Like wine, there’s a lot of snobbery with whisky, actually I guess a lot of things have snobbery. However I’d imagine supermarket’s own (even if it is Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference) whisky, to a whisky connoisseur is probably barely above mass produced £15 a litre blended whisky 😉
There’s two things worth mentioning about this whisky
1) it’s v nice
2) RRP is £20 (it’s currently £18)
I’d rather pay £18 for this no age whisky, than a lot of the other whiskies I’ve bought. It’s quite light and fruity, sweet, nothing overpowering, not to confusing, just quite mellow, and tasty, with a classic whisky aftertase, a nice burn.
I’d happily buy this again, although with it being “shop’s own”, who knows what it is, and whether it will be the same next time? I assume there aren’t J Sainsbury’s, Tesco, Asda distilleries in Scotland, and that this is a known brand, rebottled. Maybe when it gets near the end I’ll buy another just to see if it’s the same 🙂
They also do a Highland single malt, again currently reduced to £18 from £20. I also bought a bottle of that for my research. I didn’t open that yet though, I’ll post when I do…
Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky

Leave a Reply

