Jameson Irish Whiskey

The last Irish Whiskey I tried was Bushmill’s, I wasn’t impressed, a friend had recommended it, as a sweeter alternative to Scotch Whisky, and it put me off.

At work today, we were talking about whisky and whiskey, and a colleague said he likes Jameson, which is available in most supermarkets, often on a special offer, but I had never tried it.

As it happens a 1/2 bottle is on special offer at the moment, for £10 in Sainsbury’s and Tesco, so I thought I’d give it a shot, as I’d rather buy a 1/2 bottle on a whim to try than a full bottle as that gives you plenty to experiment with 😃

I like this a lot more than Bushmill’s. I’m not sure I’ll buy it again, neat, it’s smooth, and sweet, and has no distinguishing flavours as such, but has a bit of a funny aftertaste, so at first seems very nice, but after you’ve had a few isn’t so nice. Ice didn’t help, if anything that exaggerated the aftertaste 😔

So another to add to the list of drinks I’d drink if offered at a friend’s, but wouldn’t buy by choice.

Jameson Irish Whiskey

One thought on “Jameson Irish Whiskey

  1. pintsinthepale says:

    Wouldn’t agree Jameson hasn’t a distinctive taste. As it’s a mix of single grain and SPS and is aged in both ex bourbon and ex sherry. I find it holds a toasted oak and vanilla taste with some dried fruit and only a mild sweetness. Can’t think what aftertaste you’re talking about. But could possibly be the sherry on the finish which I enjoy. But may not be your personal taste

    Like

Leave a Reply

