Dalwhinnie Winter’s Gold – Room Temp Vs. From the Freezer

A while ago I decanted a small amount into a small glass bottle to keep in the freeze. This evening, I thought I’d try a bit of each to see which I prefer.
I started off with the from the freezer. It’s nice, drinkable, very smooth, no burn, as I said before, crisp, fruity, very pleasant, but nothing special.
Room temperature, I’m surprised I said it was my new favourite before, it’s OK, it’s nice enough, but nothing special. It’s smooth, slight burn, but can’t see myself buying it again.
Like many of these NAS whiskies, I think when they’re reduced, from the artificially inflated RRP, they offer a nice drink for the money, but saying that, this was £25, round this time of year (December 2016) there’s a lot of bargains in the supermarket, so you can get a good 10yo single malt for similar money, or less than that.
So in retrospect, if I had £40 to spend on whisky, I definitely wouldn’t buy this, if I had £25, I’d consider it, but for example Tesco, do a couple of “Tesco Finest” 12yo single malts, which could represent better value for money. If you don’t want to risk supermarket’s own, Jura Origin 10yo is very good value for money at £25 (RRP £30).
Interestingly, what I’ve learned more than anything else, is maybe I’ll try some other whiskies from the freezer to see what difference it makes, or maybe invest in some whisky stones.
Dalwhinnie Winter’s Gold – Room Temp Vs. From the Freezer

Leave a Reply

